I’ve Been Bad

Fog Ahead

“Fog Ahead”
Photo credit: Julie Thibodeau

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I last wrote a post for my blog. When I visited it last week I was not impressed by the format or the look of my page, so I changed it. I find it interesting that my last post is dated almost exactly one year ago today. What is it about February that makes me want to write? Musings for another day perhaps.

I’ve always thought that at some point in my life my main source of income would come from writing. Some far-off day in the future when my work would be published and people would know my name and everyone who liked my work would be salivating for more. (Seriously, what writer doesn’t dream of that?)

After reading through some of my posts I was again struck by how well-written my work actually is. How even I as the author feel compelled to keep reading, even though I was the one to write it. I will be the first to admit that it is in no way “perfect.” I still tend to include too many run-on sentences and can be much too wordy at times and being succinct has always been a challenge, and yet the writing is tight, stays on topic and rarely goes off on a tangent into some wild foray into irrelevance. Which was a problem for me many years ago but I have since learned how to avoid such pitfalls.

Basically I can see that my writing has improved a lot over the years even despite the fact that I don’t spend nearly as much time on perfecting my craft as most say you should. So why don’t I write more often you ask? Well I just asked myself that same question and my answer felt rather feeble.

As someone with as many varying interests, experiences and passions as I have, my biggest challenge is finding a topic that I want to stick with, and topics I have in spades. From my list of experiences, I could write about divorce, relationships, children with special needs, death of a parent, single parenthood, job searches, employment experiences from all the different positions I’ve had and even chronic illness. From an interest perspective, my writing topics could range from oracle card readings to history, from writing about writing to sharing dreams and dream techniques to chakras and Reiki. In the well of non-fiction ideas my cup “runneth over.” And if I were so inclined, I could probably write some fiction pieces ranging from romance and erotica, to mystery and horror. And therein lies my dilemma.

I think I have too many topics to choose from and no clear idea of what topic or interest will hold my interest and thus that of my readers. But then again, maybe that too is just an excuse not to write? I will be a very happy camper when all my questions no longer need answers for the simple fact that I will no longer need them because I will be writing. Period.

